Complaints due to manufacturer or licensee defect, as well as cosmetic issues, are accepted by this Department. Please make all correspondence to this Department in writing. Refer to specific information about the nature of your complaint or complaint items. Please do not submit in storybook fashion. Fill out a Complaint Form. Use the instructions below for sending us your complaint.
Consumers should file written complaints with the retailer or manufacturer within one year from the sale date or date of installation of a home. Consumers may file a complaint directly with the Department of Housing as long as filed within one year of the sale date or installation date, whichever is later. Additionally, certain complaints directly related to escrow requirements in law or a failure of a dealer to perform warranty repairs during the warranty period or perform all aspects of a sales agreement may be filed with the Department for up to two years from the sale date or date of installation of a home, whichever is later.
COSMETIC COMPLAINTS - NEW MANUFACTURED HOMES
Cosmetic complaints are minor matters and do not involve the performance of structural, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, or gas systems. All cosmetic complaints should be reported, in writing, to the licensees within 120 days of the installation of the home or the designated cosmetic complaint date. Cosmetic walk-through complaints received by this Office during the above time (120 days) will be placed into inactive status. If repairs are not made after 90 days of that cosmetic time period, the purchaser may reopen their file by notifying the Office and including a current list of complaints that need correction.
COMPLAINTS OTHER THAN COSMETIC (Including Used Homes)
The purchaser may file a complaint with this Office within a year from the date of purchase or installation of their home concerning items within our statutory authority.
INSTRUCTIONS ON FILING A COMPLAINT
Please make all correspondence to this office in writing. Refer to specific information about the nature of your complaints or complaint items. Please do not submit in storybook fashion. Fill out a Complaint Form.
- Use black ink
- List your complaints numerically
- Enclose a copy of your purchase agreement or contract. Include the front and back if applicable. Also, include any addendums and or change orders if applicable.
- Enclose a copy of any lists of issues submitted to your Dealer or Manufacturer
- Enclose a copy of your walk through documents, if a walk through was performed.
By providing all of the requested information, you will ensure prompt processing of your complaint without any unnecessary delays.
Mail Items Listed Above to:
The Arizona Department of Housing
1110 W. Washington St., Suite 280
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Fax your complaints to:
602-364-1063 or 602-364-1052
Note: in most cases, complaints received over one year from the date of purchase or installation, are not within our statutory authority.
If you have any questions or concerns, please call (602) 771-1000.