
MANUFACTURER CLASSIFICATIONS: FEE & BOND REQUIREMENTS 

 
All licenses expire at 12:01 a.m., one year from the date of issuance, and must be renewed to remain active. Renewal 

is the responsibility of the licensee. Licensees may renew on-line or obtain a renewal form at our website, 

www.azhousing.gov , complete the renewal form, and send it to the Department of Housing with the renewal fee. 

Pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-2177, the licensee must have a valid bond on file with the Department to 

qualify for renewal. The same statute provides that a license shall be renewed before the anniversary of the issuance 

date or a penalty fee will be assessed. 
 
 
 
 

Class: M-9A Manufacturer of Factory-Built Buildings and FBB Subassemblies 

Fee: $864.00 

Bond: $10,000.00 

 
SCOPE: Manufacture and reconstruct factory-built buildings and FBB subassemblies. 

 
Class: M-9C Manufacturer of Manufactured Homes 

Fee: $864.00 

Bond: $65,000.00 

 
SCOPE: Manufacture and reconstruct manufactured homes. 

 
Class: M-9E Master Manufacturer 

Fee: $1,358.00 

Bond: $100,000.00 

 
SCOPE: Accomplish work as described in license scopes M-9A and M-9C. 

 
NOTE: THESE LICENSE SCOPES ALLOW FOR THE SALE OF UNITS TO LICENSED 

DEALERS/RETAILERS ONLY. IF YOU WISH TO SELL DIRECT TO THE END USER, YOU MUST 

ALSO OBTAIN THE PROPER DEALER/RETAILER LICENSE WITH THE DEPARTMENT. 



 

PLEASE READ THIS!! 
 
 

Enclosed is the licensing packet you have requested. The following is provided for your information: 

 
DEALER, BROKER & INSTALLER APPLICANTS: 

 
Testing is on Wednesdays at 9:00 a.m., by appointment only, at 1110 W. Washington St., Suite 280, 

Phoenix, Arizona. At the minimum, the Arizona Department of Housing (“Department”) must receive your 

completed application, required licensing fee, and completed refund policy form at least three (3) days prior 

to your desired testing date in order to schedule you for the exam. You may not submit an application and 

take the exam on the same day. Exams are scheduled on a first come, first serve basis. 

 
MANUFACTURER APPLICANTS: 

 
Each manufacturer’s plant must be certified. You may contact Dave Meunier at 602-364-1059 for 

certification information. 

 
Each manufacturer of factory-built buildings and subassemblies must submit plans to the Department for 

approval prior to the construction of these units. You may contact Patty Stecher at 602-364-1051 for plan 

approval information. 

 
TO ALL APPLICANTS: 

 
Please refer to the enclosed filing instructions. 

 
This Department does not issue temporary licenses. When all of the licensing requirements are met, and if 

there are no immediate background issues, the Department will issue a license on a conditional basis 

pending the results of the background investigation. Once the background analysis is completed, and if the 

background(s) of applicant(s) is (are) acceptable to the Department, a letter will be sent informing you that 

the conditional license has been given permanent status. Another license will not be issued at that time. 

 

Make all checks for licensing fees and background checks payable to the Arizona Department of 

Housing.  Mail licensing forms along with check(s) to the Arizona Department of Housing, P.O. Box 

6280, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6280. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rev (6-16) 



 

 

Douglas A. Ducey Michael Trailor 
Governor Director 

 

 
 

                               STATE OF ARIZONA 

                       DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING 
                                   1110 WEST WASHINGTON, SUITE 280 

                                                                                PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007 

                                                            (602) 771-1000    WWW.AZHOUSING.GOV   FAX: (602) 771-1002 
 

FILING INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 
 

The Application and all required documents, including testing if required, must be completed within ninety (90) days from 

the date the application is submitted to the Department of Housing (“Department”). Failure to complete the licensing 

requirements within ninety (90) days from the date the application is submitted to the Department will result in the termination 

of the application AND the forfeiture of any fees. 

 
The Application and all forms required to be completed by the applicant may be typed or completed in black ink. 

 
Each license classification requires one original Application for License plus supporting documentation. No license will be issued 

prior to submitting and/or completing ALL applicable licensing requirements. 

 
All fees submitted for licensure are  nonrefundable. The Refund Policy statement must be signed and returned with the completed 

application and applicable licensing fees before the Department will review your application. 

 
I. APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

 

Application must be completed in its entirety, typed or plainly printed with black pen, properly signed and notarized. 

 
A. License Classification 

 

Check appropriate box for proper license designation and scope as described in License Scopes of the Rules. 
 

B. Section A-Identification 
 

1. Business Name of applicant as it is to appear on the license. If applicable, include the dba (“doing 

business as”) name. Business telephone number is required. 

2. Principal Place of Business should be the actual location where business (in the classification you have 

applied for) will be conducted.  All records are required to be kept at the principal place of business 

address. If the Principal Place of Business address is a rural route or has no street address, include brief 

description such as "corner of”, “at intersections of” or “at Milepost.". Please include county. 

3. Mailing Address: Provide mailing address, including county, such as Post Office Box, Corporate 
Headquarters, or other location where written communication is to be sent. There may only be one 

mailing address of record for the license. The Department will mail all correspondence, including the 

license and any license renewal certificates, to the mailing address stated on the Application. 

4. Doing Business As: Check appropriate box to identify the entity of the applicant for license - i.e. 

partnership, corporation, individual, etc. 

5. Branch Location: List branch name, if different from principal business name, address and telephone 

number of any additional location(s) at which applicant will be conducting business under the applied for 

license. Proof that the "branch location" is not a separate legal entity may be required. See Section IV for 

bonding requirements. 

 
C. Section B - Qualifying Party 

 

1. Enter name, residence address, residence telephone number and the date of birth of Qualifying Party. 

Refer to Section III, Certificate of Qualifying Party, for a description of responsibilities. The Qualifying 

Party must reside in the same State that is listed as the principal place of business on the application. 

2. Check appropriate box to indicate the position held by the Qualifying Party. 

http://www.azhousing.gov/
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D. Section C - Statutory Agent 
 

"Statutory Agent" means an adult person who has been a bona fide resident of this State for at least three years 

and has agreed to act as agent for a licensee. A Statutory Agent may also be a company.  

"Person" includes a corporation, company, partnership, firm, association or society, as well as a natural person. 

E. Section D - Official Personnel 
 

1. List full name, title, date of birth, residence address and telephone number of: 

a)   Owner if applying as Individual, 

b)   All partners of a partnership, 

c)  President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer if applying as a corporation, 

d)   Managing Members and all Members if applying as a Limited Liability Company, and 

e)   Qualifying Party for all business license applications. 

 
F. Section E - Questions 

 

1. Complete by checking "Yes" or "No" to the five questions. Questions 1 – 4 apply to all individuals 

listed under Section D of the Application. An explanation is required for a "Yes" answer to 

Questions 1 - 4.  Court documents are required for a “Yes” answer to Questions 3 or 4. In answer 

to Question 5, parties listed under Section D that must respond by providing the completed and 

signed Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status for State Public Benefits (Long Form 

Applicant Statement) and by providing a legible copy of one of the documents from the attached 

List A or List B, are: the Owner and the Qualifying Party if applying as an Individual and only 

the Qualifying Party if applying as a business entity such as a corporation, partnership, limited 

liability company or the like. 

 
PLEASE NOTE: Question 1 pertains to any type of business license, (i.e. liquor, real estate, etc.) issued in 

Arizona or any other State. This question does not limit itself in years. (Example: If the company or 

individual applying for a license with the Department had a real estate license ten years ago, list that license 

on Question 1 whether the license is still active or not. ) 

 
G. Section F 

 

Thoroughly read this Section of the Application. By signing the Application, each person who signs is agreeing 

to be personally responsible for compliance with the Arizona Revised Statutes and the Rules of the Department 

as they pertain to the applied for license. Refer to the Instructions for Signing located on back of the Application. 
 

H. Section G - Signing of Application 

The instructions identify the person or persons who must sign the Application. No application will be accepted 

unless signed and notarized as indicated by these instructions. 
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II. CORPORATE AND LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS 
 

Corporate and LLC applicants shall submit a copy of the Articles of Incorporation or Articles of Organization from the 

State in which the Corporation or LLC was formed along with a Letter of Good Standing from that State. 

 
If a foreign corporation (formed outside of Arizona), you must apply with the Arizona Corporation Commission for a 

Certificate of Authority to Transact Business in the State of Arizona. The applicant must provide the Department with a copy 

of the Certificate of Authority, issued by the Arizona Corporation Commission, as part of the licensing requirements. You 

must contact the Arizona Corporation Commission to obtain the requirements for this procedure. Due to the length of time it 

takes to obtain the Certificate of Authority from the Arizona Corporation Commission, you may wish to apply for this 

Authority prior to submitting an Application to the Department as the applicant is under a 90-day time limit to complete 

all license requirements to avoid forfeiture of any fees the applicant may have paid to the Department. 

 
III. CERTIFICATE OF QUALIFYING PARTY 

 

A. Each applicant must have a Qualifying Party. "Qualifying Party" means a person who is an owner, employee, 

corporate officer, member, manager, or partner of the licensed business and who has active and direct supervision 

of and responsibility for all operations of that licensed business. 

 
B. The Qualifying Party must reside within the State of the principal place of the licensee's business, as listed on the 

license application, and shall not act in the capacity of a qualifying party for more than one license in the same 

classification. 

 
C. Complete form as follows: 

 
1. Full name, date of birth, residence address, and telephone number of the Qualifying Party. 

2. Applicant's business name as stated on the Application for License. 

3. License classification being applied for by Applicant - i.e. D-8, I-10C, M-9E etc. 

4. Underline the appropriate position held that is listed on the second or third lines of the first paragraph. 

5. Qualifying Party’s signature must be notarized. 

6. The listed questions must be answered. 
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IV. BOND REQUIREMENTS 
 

A. Before granting a license, the Director shall require a cash deposit or a surety bond on the Department’s bond 

form. The amount of the bond is determined by the license classification of the applied for license. 

 
B. An applicant for a D-8B license is exempt from the bonding requirement. 

 
C. A separate bond or cash deposit is required for each branch location of any licensed manufacturer or installer. 

Space is provided in the upper right corner of the license bond form for the branch name (if different than the 

principal place of business name) and the branch location address. 

 
1. The License Bond form is to be completed by the bonding company. Cash bonds are to be completed 

as described in Paragraph E. 

2. No license shall be renewed unless the licensee's surety bond or cash deposit (when required) is in 

full force and effect. 

 
D. Surety (bonding) company is to complete the License Bond form as follows: 

 
1. Side one of form: 

a.   Upper right corner: Indicate bond number. If applicable, show the branch name (only if 

different from the principal name) and branch address on lines provided. The branch information 

is to be filled out when the bond is covering that branch only. If the bond is covering the principal 

place of business location, no information is recorded in the branch information. 

b.   1st Line: Principal's name exactly as shown on Application. 

c.   2nd Line: Principal's physical business address as shown on Application. 

d.   3rd Line: Indicate license classification, i.e. D-8, I-10C, M-9A, etc. as shown on Application. 

e.   4th Line: Name of surety (bonding) company, their claims address, and phone number. 

f.   5th Line: Amount of bond in words and numerals. 

 
2. Side two of form: 

a.   Date bonding company signed and sealed the bond. 

b.   Effective date of bond. 

c.   Signatures, left side: 

• Full business name of applicant, typewritten or printed. 

• Applicant's signature and title. 

• Countersignature by surety Arizona resident agent (if applicable). 

• Type or print name of Arizona resident agent, name, address and telephone number of Arizona 

resident’s agent’s employing company (if applicable).   I f  bond was not countersigned, 

provide name, address, and phone number where claims against the bond should be sent. 

d.   Signatures, right side: 

• Printed or typed name of surety or bonding company. 

• Signature of person acknowledging for the surety. 

• Type or print name and title of the person acknowledging for the surety on the line below. 

• Surety signature must be notarized. 
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E.   Cash Bond 

 
1.   A cash bond, in the amount required for the license classification, may be deposited with the Department using 

any one of the following payment methods: 

a. Cash; 

b. Certified check payable to the State Treasurer or to the Arizona Department of Housing 

c. Cashier’s check payable to the State Treasurer or to the Arizona Department of Housing; 

d. Bank money order payable to the State Treasurer or to the Arizona Department of Housing; 

e. Postal money order payable to the State Treasurer or to the Arizona Department of Housing. 

 

2.   A personal check is not acceptable for a cash bond deposit. 

 
3.   Cash deposits may be withdrawn, upon written request, two years from: 

a. Termination of the license for which the cash deposit was posted, provided there are no outstanding claims, or 

b. Filing a commercial surety bond as replacement of the cash deposit. 

 
V.   INFORMATION ABOUT APPLICANT 

 

A.   If, before the issuance of the license, information brought to the attention of the Director concerning the 

qualifications of the applicant is such that in the Director’s discretion it may be proper to deny the license, the  

Director may notify the applicant that the license is denied. 

B.   If the license application is denied, the applicant may request in writing a hearing if the applicant so desires. 

 
VI.   TRUST OR ESCROW REQUIREMENTS – DEALERS/BROKERS/RETAILERS 

 

A.  Prior to issuance of a license, each applicable dealer/broker/retailer applicant shall notify the Department, on the form 

provided, of the name and number of the account established as the trust or escrow account, the name and ARIZONA 

location of the financial institution where the account was established, and the date the account was opened. An applicant 

may keep up to $200.00 of its own funds in the trust or escrow account to offset service charges. If you choose to utilize a 

title/escrow company instead of opening an account with a financial institution, the account number on the Trust or Escrow 

Account Authorization for Release of Information form should be stated as “various” because the title/escrow company will 

assign a different escrow number for each customer. 

B.  Beginning July 1, 2012, all transactions involving a new manufactured home must go through a title/escrow company 

unless the dealer meets the requirements set forth in A.R.S. § 41-2180 (C). 

C.  Beginning July 1, 2012, all transactions involving a new factory-built building designed for use as a residential dwelling must 

go through a title/escrow company unless the dealer meets the requirements set forth in A.R.S. § 41-2180 (C). 

D.  Beginning July 1, 2012, all transactions involving a used manufactured home, mobile home or used factory-built building 

designed for use as a residential dwelling with a purchase price of $50,000.00 or more must go through a title/escrow 

company. 

E.   Beginning July 1, 2012, the purchaser involved in the purchase of a used manufactured home, mobile home or used factory- 
built building designed for use as a residential dwelling with a purchase price of under $50,000.00 may request in writing, no 

later than the time the purchase contract is signed, that the dealer use a title/escrow company and, if the seller consents, the 

dealer must do so. 
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F.   The dealer/broker/retailer shall authorize the release of any and all information relative to the trust or escrow account to 

the Department by completing, signing and returning the provided Trust or Escrow Account Authorization for Release of 

Information form. 

G. The applicant must submit a copy of the trust or escrow account signature card or account application to the Department 

with the completed Trust or Escrow Account Authorization for Release of Information form. If a title company is 

utilized instead of a trust or escrow account, a copy of the signature card or account application is not applicable. Instead, 

the applicant must provide the Department with a signed letter from the title/escrow company (that is on their letterhead) 

      that states that the title/escrow company is willing to handle ‘home only’ transactions. 

 
VII. WRITTEN EXAMINATIONS – DEALER/BROKER/RETAILER OR INSTALLER CLASSIFICATIONS 

 

A. Prior to the issuance of a dealer/broker/retailer or installer license, the Qualifying Party for the license shall 

successfully show by written examination, qualification in the kind of work or business in which the applicant 

proposes to engage. A new Qualifying Party for an existing license must also successfully complete the required 

examination. Manufacturer applicants are not required to take an examination. 

 
B. Upon the applicant’s filing of the Application for License with the appropriate fee and the Refund Policy statement, 

the Department will notify the applicant, in writing, regarding the items remaining to complete the application 

process including (if applicable) the examination requirement. Exams are given by appointment only and at the 

Phoenix location only. The examinee must show proper identification (i.e. driver’s license) at the time of testing. 

 
C. Two hours will be allowed to complete the examination. A grade of 70% is required to pass exams. Notification of 

the test results will usually be given to you prior to leaving the Department’s office. Examinee will be allowed only 

three attempts to successfully complete the required examination. 

D. In the event of failure, a retake examination will be scheduled on the next available testing date. 

E. In addition to meeting the applicable requirements, an applicant for an installer I-10C, I-10D, or 

I-10G license shall: 
 

1. Have a minimum of 3 years practical or field management experience in the specific type of installation, a 

related construction field, or the equivalent, for which the applicant is applying. At least 2 of the 3 years 

experience shall be within 10 years of the date of the application. The applicant may substitute technical 

training in the specific type of installation, a related construction field, or the equivalent, from an accredited 

college or university or from a Department of Housing workshop for no more than 1 year of the 3 years 

experience required. Certification Experience Verification forms must be completed by past or present 

employers and submitted to the Department. 

 
2. Supply a certified copy of each official transcript or certificate, demonstrating successful completion of any 

technical training the applicant wishes the Department to consider as proof of meeting the experience 

requirement. 
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F. Study Information: 

 
1. Dealer/Broker/Retailer examinations will consist of general knowledge of the Arizona Revised Statutes  

and Rules of the Department of Housing as they pertain to the applied for license. All study materials are the   

responsibility of the examinee. Links to the Statutes and Rules can be found at our website, 
www.azhousing.gov .  No test questions come from the “New Dealer Handbook”. 

2. Installers will need a general knowledge of those Statutes and Rules that relate to requirements that  
pertain to all licensees as well as installer/installation requirements AND a general knowledge of the current 

adopted codes we have listed at our website, www.azhousing.gov .The code books may be available at local 
libraries, the local city or county building departments or book stores. One such store may be Builders Book 

Depot. Links to the Department’s Statutes and Rules are located on the Department’s website. 

 
G. Effective January 1, 2010, all applicants for installer licenses must take the MHI on-line course and pass the test. 

The fee for the class is $255.00. You can pay for the Arizona Manufactured Home Installation – Online 

Training course by check by completing the Mail-in Form and mailing it to MHEI with your check. Once your 

order is received, MHEI will mail the course book to your address. You will also receive email instructions for 

accessing the online Internet portion of the course along with a user name and password at the email address 

provided below. To register online and pay by credit card go to http://mhei.myicourse.com and register as a student 

on the site. Then login to the site and click on “Course Catalog” and select the “Arizona Manufactured Home 

Installation” course. After you have paid for the course, click on “My Enrolled Courses” and you will see the 

course. Select course for Arizona installers. Applicants can find the link to the Mail-in Form and to the on-line 

course and examination at our website of www.azhousing.gov . 

 
VIII. MANUFACTURER SUBMISSION OF CONSTRUCTION PLANS 

 

Prior to the construction of any factory-built building or subassembly, each manufacturer who intends to manufacture for 

delivery or sell such a unit in this State shall submit to the Engineering Section of the Department for approval, detailed plans 

of each model and shall have obtained such approval. No plans will be reviewed prior to your license number being issued. 

For questions related to plans, please contact the Engineering Section of the Department. 

 
IX. MANUFACTURER PLANT CERTIFICATION 

 

A. Manufactured Homes The plant certification shall be pursuant to the Federal Manufactured Home Procedural and 

Enforcement Regulations published pursuant to the Act defined in A.R.S. 41-2142.2. 

B. Factory-Built Buildings and Subassemblies Each manufacturing facility shall be certified by the Department, or an 

authorized representative, as to capability to manufacture units or subassemblies as shown on the Department- 

approved drawings, specifications and quality assurance manual. 

http://www.azhousing.gov/
http://mhei.myicourse.com/
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X. FINGERPRINTING REQUIREMENTS – ALL APPLICANTS 
 

A. The applicant may contact the Department for fingerprint cards or may contact their local police departments or 

sheriff offices. Refer to the separate Fingerprinting Instructions for important additional information. 

B. One set of fingerprints with a processing fee of $22.00, payable to the Arizona Department of Housing, in certified 

funds (or exact cash) will be required for persons listed in Section D of the application, as shown below: 

 
1. Qualifying Party 

2. Individual named as Sole Proprietor or Owner 

3. All Partners of a Partnership 

4. All Managing Members of a Limited Liability Company 

5. All General Partners of a Limited Partnership 

6. The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer of a Corporation 

 
C. An applicant who is required to submit a fingerprint card and processing fee to the Department 

may provide the Department with a copy of the front and back of a current DPS Fingerprint 

Clearance Card in order to be waived from the fingerprint requirement. 

 
XI. AGREEMENT FOR CONDITIONAL LICENSE 

 

A. There may be a rather lengthy delay in issuing a license due to difficulties encountered by the Department in 

obtaining the necessary background information for review prior to issuance of the permanent license. We will 

issue the license, upon completion of all other requirements, on a conditional basis that will allow you to conduct 

business under the license until the background information is received by the Department. 

B. On completion of the background analysis, the previously issued conditional license will either become a permanent 

license or a probationary license or the license will be automatically revoked if the background information is of such 

a nature that a license denial is in order. 

C. Complete the Agreement for Conditional License form as described below. 

 
1.  Insert business name as shown on the application form on the line provided in the first paragraph. 

2. The Agreement for Conditional License may be signed by the Qualifying Party, the Owner if applying as an 

Individual, a Partner if applying as a Partnership, a Corporate Officer if applying as a Corporation, a Managing 

Member if applying as a Limited Liability Company or a General Partner if applying as a Limited Partnership. 

3.   Date the document where indicated and have signature notarized. 

 
XII. REFUND POLICY 

 

All fees required for the license are nonrefundable. The form acknowledging this Statute must be signed by the applicant 

and returned with the license application and application licensing fee before the Department will review your application. 
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XIII. AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
 

A. An Authorization for Release of Information form is required for each person listed in Section D of the Application 

as shown below: 

 
1. Qualifying Party 

2. Individual named as Sole Proprietor or Owner 

3. Each Partner of a Partnership 

4. All Managers or Managing Members of a Limited Liability Company 

5. All General Partners of a Limited Partnership 

6. The President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer of a Corporation 

 
B. The Authorization for Release of Information form, for each applicable person, must be completed as described 

below: 

 
1. State full name of individual, including full middle name, and date of birth. 

2. State individual’s residence address including county. 

3. State individual’s residence phone number. 

4. State business name as listed on the License Application. 

5. State the position or title held by the individual (i.e. Qualifying Party, President, Owner, etc.). 

6. State full name of individual on the appropriate line of the consent for inquiry. 

 
C. Please read the Authorization Statement before signing. Signature must be notarized. In addition, you must print 

your name on the line appropriated for this information. 

 
XIV. SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION FOR LICENSE APPLICATION 

 

Any person listed in Section D of the license application, who has been convicted of a felony, must sign a Supplemental 

Information form and provide the Department with the information and/or documents described in this form. 

 
XV. ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP AND ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS 

 

Pages 1 and 2 are to be completed and returned to the Department along with a legible copy of one of the documents listed in 

the attached List A or List B by the following individuals: 

1. Qualifying Party if applying as a Corporation, Partnership, or LLC; 

2. Qualifying Party if the license application is for the business entity of “Individual” and the Qualifying Party is not 

the Owner; 

3. Owner if applying as an Individual. 

 

NOTE: If you elect to provide a copy of identification that does not have your photo on it (such as your birth certificate), you 

must also provide a copy of government-issued identification that has your photo on it such as driver’s license, State-issued 

identification card, passport, or passport card. 

 

XVI. REQUIRED F.B.I NOTICE 
 

Each individual, who is required to submit a fingerprint card to the Department, must also provide the Department with a 

completed F.B.I Notice. 

 

 

Make all checks for licensing fees and background checks payable to the Arizona Department of Housing.  Mail licensing 

forms along with check(s) to Arizona Department of Housing, P.O. Box 6280, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6280. 

 

 
Rev (6/16) 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 
 

CHECK APPLICABLE BOX 
License Type License Classification 

Manufacturer M-9A M-9C M-9E  

Dealer D-8 D-8B D-10 D-12 

Installer I-10C I-10D I-10G  

 

SECTION A 

Business Name:    

Principal Place of Business:    
Street Address 

 

 
City County State Zip Code 

 

Mailing Address:    
Street Address 

 

 
City County State Zip Code 

 

Email Address:         

Doing Business As:   Individual  Partnership  Limited Partnership  Corporation  Limited Liability Company 

1.    
Branch Name                Area Code/Phone Number 

 

 
Street Address City County State Zip Code 

 

2.    
Branch Name               Area Code/Phone Number 

 

 
Street Address City County State Zip Code 

 

3.    
Branch Name               Area Code/Phone Number 

 

 
Street Address City County State Zip Code 

 

Attach additional sheet for additional locations if necessary. 
 

SECTION B 
 

Name of Qualifying Party:    
Last Name First Name Middle Name Date of Birth 

 

 
Residence Address  City   County State Zip Code  Area Code/Phone Number 

Qualifying Party is (check one):    Owner   Partner  Corporate Officer   Employee  Member  Managing Member 

SECTION C 

Arizona Statutory Agent:    
Last Name First Name Middle Name Area Code/Phone Number 

 

 
Residence Address City County State Zip Code 

http://www.azhousing.gov/


 

SECTION D 
 

The Personnel of Applicant shall include: the qualifying party in all instances; if an individual, the individual applying; if a partnership, all 

partners of the partnership; if a corporation, the president, vice president, secretary and treasurer; if a limited liability company, all members 

and managing members, in a limited partnership, all general partners and limited partners. 

Please type or print 
 

Last Name, First, Full Middle Title or Position Date of Birth Complete Address & Telephone Number 

    

    

    

    
 

SECTION E 

For purposes of the questions below, “person” means an applicant, an individual, a qualifying party, any partner of a partnership, any general 

partner of a limited partnership, the president, vice president, secretary and treasurer of a corporation and any managing member of a limited 

liability company. 

1. Has any person described above been affiliated with any business license issued by any state?  Yes  No 

If yes, give state, license type, license number, classification, status of license and position or affiliation held: 
 

 

2. 
 

Has any person described above acted in the capacity of Qualifying Party in this or any other state? 

If yes, attach details. 

 Yes  No 

3. Has any person described above within one year prior to date of the application, had a license refused or revoked? 

If yes, attach details. 

 Yes  No 

4. Has any person described above been arrested or convicted of a felony in any state or federal jurisdiction, or had final judgment brought against them 

in a civil action upon grounds of fraud, misrepresentation or deceit?  Yes  No 

If yes, attach details. 

5. Are all parties, listed under Section D above, citizens of the United States?  Yes  No 
Provide legal documentation which identifies your name, and status as a U.S. Citizen. If you are not a U.S. Citizen, provide written documentation 

identifying the country of which you are a citizen and provide documentation that demonstrates your legal right to live and work in the United States. 
 

SECTION F 
 

I (we) hereby agree to comply with ALL provisions of Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 41, Chapter 16, Article 1,2,3,4, and 5, and the Rules and Regulations of 
the Department Fire, Building and Life Safety. 

 

SECTION G 

The application must have notarized signatures of the following: 

 Individual – the individual and the qualifying party. 

 Partnership - each partner and the qualifying party. 

 Limited Partnership – each general partner and the qualifying party. 

 Corporation - the president, vice president, secretary, treasurer and the qualifying party. 

 Limited Liability Company - each managing member and the qualifying party. 

No license shall be issued to a minor.  Checks are to be made payable to the Arizona Department of Housing. If all requirements for license are not completed 

within ninety (90) days from the date of filing the application, all paid licensing fees will be forfeited. 
 

I (WE) THE UNDERSIGNED, HEREBY APPLY TO THE ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING FOR THE ABOVE LICENSE AND ATTEST  
TO THE TRUTH AND ACCURACY OF ALL STATEMENTS AND ANSWERS HEREIN CONTAINED. 

 

X                                                      Title                                                         X                                                               Title                                                        

X                                                     Title                                                        X                                                               Title                                                        

State of                                                  County of                                                

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this                                 day of                                     , 20          .                (NOTARY SEAL) 
 

My commission expires    Notary Public Signature    
 

NOTICE: Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1030, an agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not 

specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a 

licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition. 

This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court shall award reasonable attorney fees, damages 

and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section. A state employee may 

not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency’s adopted 

personnel policy. This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by Section 18-820.01 or 12-820.02. 
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SUBJECT: Supplemental Information for License Application 

 
If listed under Section D of a business license application or if applying for a salesperson license, this 

form must be signed by you if you: 1) have ever been arrested or convicted of a felony in any State or 

Federal jurisdiction and/or 2) have ever had a final judgment brought against you in a civil action upon 

grounds of fraud, misrepresentation or deceit. 

 
You must provide us with the following information and/or documents (whichever are applicable) to 

facilitate the processing of your application for a license: 

 
1. Approximate date of arrest(s). 

2. Location of arrest(s). 
3. Any prior arrest(s), date and location. 

4. Name of prosecuting Agency(s), County Attorney, District Attorney, Attorney 

General, etc. and location(s). 
5. Name of Defense Attorney(s). 

6. Case Number(s). 

7. Court(s) where convicted (each offense). 

(City, County, State, Federal, etc.) 
8. Date(s) of conviction(s) (approximate). 
9. Copy of Judgement of conviction(s). 

10. Name of Parole Officer(s) or Probation Officer(s). 

11. In your own words, describe violation(s). 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Signature Date 

 
 
 
 
 

Name of Applicant * License Classification** 
 

 
 
 

*If you are listed under Section D of a business license application, identify the business name stated on 

the license application. ** Identify the license classification listed on the business license application. 

 
***If you are a Salesperson, the Name of Applicant will be your name. The License Classification will be 

Salesperson. 

http://www.azhousing.gov/


Douglas A. Ducey 
Governor 

Michael Trailor 
           Director 

                       DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING 
                                    1110 WEST WASHINGTON, SUITE 280 
                                              PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007  

             (602) 771-1000   WWW.AZHOUSING.GOV FAX: (602) 771-1002  

 

CERTIFICATE OF QUALIFYING PARTY 
 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT: 
 

FULL NAME:  
(DATE OF BIRTH) 

 

ADDRESS:  
(RESIDENCE ADDRESS) 

 
 

(CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE) (PHONE NUMBER) 

 

BUSINESS NAME:    CLASSIFICATION:    
 

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT I have been appointed to act as the QUALIFYING PARTY for the above-named 

license issued by the Department of Housing as QUALIFYING PARTY.  I am a bona fide owner, corporate officer, 

member, partner; employee (underline one) of the above-named license. I assume full responsibility for compliance 

with the provisions of Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 41, Chapter 16, Articles 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 and the Rules and 

Regulations adopted pursuant thereto by the Department of Housing. If for any reason I become disassociated or 

cease to be the QUALIFYING PARTY for the above mentioned licensee, I will within (5) days notify the 

Department of Housing in writing. 

 
1. Are you presently acting or have you previously acted on a license in the capacity of    Yes    No    

Qualifying Party in this or any other State? 

 
2.   Have you had a license refused or revoked within the past twelve months? Yes    No    

 
3.   Have you been convicted of a felony in any state or federal jurisdiction or Yes        No    

      have you ever had a final judgement brought against you in a civil action 

on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit? 

 
NOTE:  A yes answer to any of the above requires you to provide details. 

 

I HEREBY CERTIFY under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct, and vouch for the truth and 

accuracy of all supplementary statements, answers and representations attached hereto and made a part of this 

application. 
 

SIGNATURE: 

 
STATE OF 

COUNTY OF 

 
(Qualifying Party) 

) 

) 
 

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this day of , 20 
 

My Commission expires Notary Public 
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AGREEMENT FOR CONDITIONAL LICENSE 

 
This agreement is entered into between the Department of Housing (“Department”) and    
(Applicant's Name) subject to terms and conditions as hereinafter set forth and pursuant to A.R.S. 41-2176.B., C., and .D. 

 
Upon completion of all other requirements, the Department agrees to grant the applicant a conditional license, pending the results of 
the background analysis. Once the background analysis is completed, if the applicant’s background is acceptable and the applicant 
did not make any misrepresentations, depending on the results, permanent status or probation will be given to the license. 

 
The Director shall revoke the applicant's conditional license and shall refuse to issue the permanent license if there are material 
misrepresentations or fraud in the application to obtain a license. The applicant agrees that the conditional license issued to him/her 
shall be revoked if it appears that the applicant has misrepresented his/her criminal background. 

 
The applicant further agrees to waive and does hereby waive any and all right they may have to a stay of the effectiveness of any 

order of revocation of the conditional license. The applicant also agrees to waive and does hereby waive any right to notice of hearing 
prior to revocation of the conditional license. 

 
The applicant may demand a hearing on the order of revocation pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 41, Chapter 16, Articles 1, 
2, 3, 4, and 5 and consistent with this agreement by making written demand for hearing, setting forth the relief requested and the basis 
for the relief. 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE: 
Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (“FBI”). If you have a 
criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the job, license, or other benefit must provide you 
the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record. You should be afforded a reasonable amount 
of time to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before officials deny you the job, license, or other benefit based on 
information in the criminal history record. 

 
The procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your FBI criminal history record are set forth in Title 28, Code of 
Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.30 through 16.34. Information on how to review and challenge your FBI criminal history record 
can be found at www.fbi.gov under Criminal History Summary Checks or by calling (304) 625-3878. 

 
To obtain a copy of your Arizona criminal history in order to review/update/correct the record, you can contact the Arizona Department of 
Public Safety (“DPS”) Criminal History Records Unit at (602) 223-2222 to obtain a fingerprint card and a Review and Challenge packet. 
Information on the review and challenge process can be found on the DPS website (www.dps.gov). 

 
 

Applicant’s Signature 

 
State of ) Dated this             day of   , 20____ 
County of ) 

 
On this    day of    , 20_____, before me personally appeared    _, 
whose identity was proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the person whose name is subscribed to this instrument, and 
acknowledged that he/she executed the same. 

 

    Commission Expires:    
Notary Public Signature 
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BOND REQUIREMENTS  COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS 
 

A. Pursuant to A.R.S. §41-2179, before granting an original license, the Director shall require a surety bond or 

cash deposit on the form provided, which shall be continuous in form. The amount of the bond is 

determined by the type and scope of the applied for license. 

B. A separate bond or cash deposit is required for each branch location. Space is provided for such branch 

location address in the upper right corner of the License Bond Form ADOH 107. 

1. Installer Branch Location means a separate business location from the licensee's principal place of 
business where transactions are conducted. 

2. Manufacturer Branch Location means a separate business location from the licensee's principal 

place of business where units are manufactured. 

C. Surety (bonding) company to complete License Bond Form ADOH 107 as follows: 

1. Side one of form: 

a. Upper right corner indicate bond number. If applicable, show licensee's branch address 

on lines provided. See Paragraph B. above. 
b. 1st Line: Name of business exactly as shown on the Application. 

c. 2nd Line: Licensee's principal physical business address as shown on Application. 

d. 3rd Line: Indicate license classification, i.e., D-8, I-10C, M-9A, etc., as shown on 

Application. 

e. 4th Line: Name of Surety (bonding) Company and Claims Address for Surety Company. 

f. 5th Line: Amount of bond in words and numerals. 

2. Side two of form: 

a. Date bonding company signed and sealed the bond. 

b. Effective date of bond. 

c. Signatures, left side: 

Full business name of applicant, typewritten or printed. 

Signature and title of applicant. 

Type or print the name, mailing address and telephone number for the purpose of 

filing claims in this section. 
d. Signatures, right side: 

Name of surety typed or printed. 

Signature of person acknowledging for the surety; and, 

Type or print name and title on line below. 

Surety signature must be notarized. 

D. TO AVOID DELAY or inconvenience, be sure the bond is completed as delineated above. If necessary, 

the bond will be returned for correction or a rider will be requested to properly complete the bond before 

issuance of the license. 
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        STATE OF ARIZONA 
 
 
 

 
DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING 

                      1110 WEST WASHINGTON, SUITE 280 
PHOENIX, AZ 85007-2935 

(602) 771-1000 

 
Bond Number    

Branch (of principal) if applicable 

 
Name      

Address    

 

 
 

LICENSE BOND 
 

 
KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS: 

 
That we   

as Principal, whose physical business address is   

conducting business under the classification of    

and    

a corporation duly authorized and licensed to transact surety business in the State of Arizona, for the purpose of making, guaranteeing or becoming 

sole surety upon bonds or undertakings required or authorized by the laws of the State of Arizona as surety, are held and firmly bound unto the State 

of Arizona for the benefit of: 

1. Any purchaser of a manufactured home, mobile home, factory-built building or subassembly thereof who is damaged by the failure of the 
Principal to perform a sales or installation agreement or fails to perform repairs under a warranty, as provided by A.R.S. §41-2179.D; 

            2.    The Director of the Department of Housing, if the Principal owes said Department under the provision of Articles 1,2,3,4, and 5,  
          Chapter 16, Title 41, Arizona Revised Statutes, and the Rules adopted pursuant thereto; 

 
In the sum of:   ($  ) 
lawful money of the United States of America for payment under the terms expressed herein, we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, successors 
and assignees, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents. 

 
THE CONDITION OF THE FOREGOING OBLIGATION IS SUCH THAT: 

 
Whereas, the above bounden Principal has made application with the Department of Housing of the State of Arizona for a license to conduct 
business under the classification and at the address set forth above and tenders this bond to comply with the provisions of Articles 1,2,3,4, and 5, 
Chapter 16, Title 41, Arizona Revised Statutes, and the Rules adopted pursuant thereto by the Department of Housing. 

 
The persons claiming against this bond may maintain action at law against the Principal and the Surety and this bond may be sued upon in 
successive actions until the full amount thereof is exhausted.  No suit may be commenced on this bond after the expiration of two years following 
the commission of the act on which the suit is based except that the time for purposes of the claim for fraud shall be measured as provided in A.R.S. 
§12-543. 

 
It is further provided that upon any demand or claim against the bond the Surety shall give notice to the Director by registered mail of any such 
demand or claim and of any judgment, recovery or settlement made prior to the payment thereof. This bond shall be continuous in form and shall be 
conditioned that the total aggregate liability of the Surety for all claims shall be limited to the face amount of the bond irrespective of the number of 
years this bond is in force. If the Surety desires to make payment without awaiting court actions, the amount of this bond shall be reduced to the 
extent of any payment or payments made by the Surety, in good faith thereunder. Any such payments shall be based on priority of written claims 
received by the Surety prior to court action. 

 
(OVER) 
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The liability of the Surety may be terminated and this bond cancelled as to future liability by the giving of written notice by the Surety 
to the Director, of the Surety’s desire to terminate liability and by stating in such notice the effective date of such termination, which 
shall not be less than thirty (30) days from the receipt of such notice by the Director. 

Previous locations are automatically covered by the existing bond when a rider or endorsement is received by the Department 
indicating a new location. 

Nothing in this bond shall be construed to be in conflict with the provisions of Articles 1,2,3,4, and 5, Chapter 16, Title 41, of the 
Arizona Revised Statutes. 

Signed and sealed this                                                           day of                                                     , 20          . 
 

This bond becomes effective on the     day of    , 20    . 
 

Type or Print Licensed Business Name 
 
 

(Name of Principal) (Name of Surety) 
 

By:    By:    
(Signature & Title of Principal) Signature of Person Signing for Surety 

 
By:   

Agent (Type or Print Name) (Type Name & Title of Person Signing for Surety) 
 

This instrument was acknowledged 

Representing (Name of Company)  before me this     day of    , 20 _____  
 
 

(Area Code) (Telephone Number) (Notary Public) 
 
 

(Mailing Address) My commission expires:    
 
 

(City) (State) (Zip) STATE OF    
 

NOTE: Provide address and phone number where claims against COUNTY OF    
this bond are to be sent in the spaces appropriated above for insurance 
agent if bond is not being countersigned by insurance/surety Agent. 

 
SIGNATURE OF SURETY MUST BE NOTARIZED 

--------------------------------------------------------------------- NOTE ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
In cases where a minor discrepancy exists between the information contained on the license application and that contained on the bond, the 
clarification notice below will be filled in to reflect the proper information. A copy of the bond form with the completed clarification notice will then be 
sent to the surety. If written notice from the surety is not received by the Office of Administration contradicting the information contained in the 
clarification notice, it will be assumed that such information is correct.  This procedure will eliminate the delays caused by bond rider requests when 
minor differences exist. 

DO NOT WRITE BELOW 
LICENSEE’S BOND CLARIFICATION NOTICE 

The Department of Housing’s records indicate that the correct business name, license classification and/or form of business for the Licensee 
covered by this surety bond is as stated below. 
Business Name    

 

Classification        

Form of Business: Individual Partnership Corporation Limited Liability Co. 

Other    
 

I certify that on      a copy of this notice was mailed postage prepaid to: 
Date 

 

By   
Surety’s Name Signature of Licensing Clerk 
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TO: All Applicants for Licensure 

 
SUBJECT: Refund Policy and Certification Form 

 
It is the policy of this Department that all funds received relating to licensure are 

nonrefundable. 

 
I,   , swear that the above 

(Please Print) 

information pertaining to licensing fees being nonrefundable has been read and understood by 

me. 

 
 
 

Signature:   Date:    
 

Title:    
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STATEMENT OF AUTHORIZATION AND RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
 
 

Your Full Name:   Date of Birth:    
 

Complete Residence Address:     

 

Residence Telephone:     
 

Business Name Stated on License Application:    
 

Position/Title You Hold:  
(Example: president, managing member, qualifying party, partner, etc.) 

 
I, 

Your Full Name 

, do hereby consent to having an inquiry made as to 

my moral character, professional reputation and fitness for said license. 

 
I also authorize and request every person, firm, company, corporation, governmental agency, court, 

association or institution having control of any documents, records, and other information pertaining to 

me,  to  furnish to the Department of Housing any such  information,  including documents, records, or 

information regarding charges or complaints filed against me, formal or informal, pending or closed, or 

any other pertinent data, and to permit the Department of Housing or any of its agents or representatives 

to inspect and make copies of such documents, records and other information. 

 
I hereby release, discharge and exonerate the Department of Housing, its agents and representatives and 

any person so furnishing information from any and all liability of every nature and kind arising out of 

the furnishing or inspection of such documents, records and other information of the inquiry made by the 

Department of Housing. 

 
State of                                        ) 

 

County of     ) 
 

Signature:    Date:   
 

Printed Name:    
 

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this     day of    , 20   . 

 
Notary Public Signature:  My commission expires:    
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Form 1: LONG FORM APPLICANT STATEMENT (revised) 

REQUIRING SUBMISSION OF DOCUMENTATION OF STATUS 

 
ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP 

AND ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS  
Professional License and Commercial License Department of Housing 

 
Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the "Act"), 8 

U.S.C.  §  1621, provides that,  with  certain exceptions, only United  States  citizens, United  States  non-citizen 

nationals, non-exempt "qualified aliens" (and sometimes only particular categories of qualified aliens), 

nonimmigrants, and certain aliens paroled into the United States are eligible to receive state or local public benefits. 

With certain exceptions, a professional license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public 

benefit. 

 
Arizona Revised Statutes § 1-501 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit 

documentation to the licensing agency that satisfactorily demonstrates that the applicant is lawfully present in the 

United States. 

 
Directions:   All applicants must complete Sections I, II, and IV.   Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or 

nationals must also complete Section III.  Submit this completed form and copy of one or more documents 

that evidence your citizenship or alien status with your application for license or renewal. 

 
SECTION I — APPLICANT INFORMATION 

 

APPLICANT’S NAME (Print or type)    DATE   
 

TYPE OF APPLICATION (check one)       INITIAL APPLICATION       RENEWAL 

 
TYPE OF LICENSE    

 

SECTION II — CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION 
Directions: Attach a legible copy of the front, and the back (if any), of a document from the attached List A or other 

document that demonstrates U.S. citizenship or nationality.  Name of document provided:    
 

A.  Are you a citizen or national of the United States? (Check one)       Yes       No 

 
B.   If the answer is “Yes,” where were you born? List city, state (or equivalent), and country. 

City    State (or equivalent)    Country or Territory    
 

If you are a citizen or national of the United States, go to Section IV. If you are not a citizen or national of the 

United States, please complete Sections III and IV. 

 
SECTION III — ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION 

Directions:  To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States.  Please indicate 

alien status by checking the appropriate box.  Attach a legible copy of the front, and the back (if any), of a document 

from the attached List B or other document that evidences your status. A.R.S. § 1-501. Name of document provided: 

                                               . 

 
“Qualified Alien” Status (8 U.S.C. §§ 1621(a)(1), -1641(b) and (c)) 

Q 1.      An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA). 

Q 2.       An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA. 
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Q 3. A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA 

Q 4. An alien paroled into the United States for at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA. 

Q 5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA. 

Q 6. An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a) (7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980. 

Q 7. An alien who is a Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee Education 
Assistance Act of 1980). 

Q 8. An alien who is, or whose child or child’s parent is a “battered alien” or an alien subjected to extreme 

cruelty in the United States. 

 
Nonimmigrant Status (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a) (2)) 

Q 9. A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1101 et seq.]  Nonimmigrants 

are persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a) (15). 

 
Alien Paroled into the United States For Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a) (3)) 

Q 10. An alien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA 

 

Other Persons (8 U.S.C. § 1621(c) (2)(A) and (C)) 

□ 11. A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or 
 

□ 12. A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association 

approved in Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated States 
include the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of Micronesia, 48 

U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.]; 
 

□ 13. A foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

 

 
Otherwise Lawfully Present (A.R.S. § 1-501) 

□ 14. A person not described in categories 1–13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States. 

PLEASE NOTE:  The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act 

may make persons who fall into this category ineligible for licensure. See 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a). 
 
 
 

SECTION IV — DECLARATION 
All applicants must complete this section. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona 
that the answers I have given are true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

 
 
 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE TODAY’S DATE 
 
 

Attachment: Lists A and B Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S National Status, or Alien Status 
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Attachment to Form 1 Applicant Statement 

 
EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS 

 
LIST A:  U.S. CITIZEN OR U.S. NATIONAL 

 
Note: In this List, the term “Service” refers to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service, formerly, the U.S. 

Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS). 

 
[Source: Proposed Rules, Verification of Eligibility for Public Benefits, 8 CFR § 104.23; 63 FR 41662-01 August 4, 

1998); and Interim Guidance of Verification of Citizenship, Qualified Alien Status and Eligibility Under Title IV of 

the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (“Interim Guidance”), 62 FR 61344 

(Nov. 17, 1997), Attachment 4] 

 
Evidence showing U.S. citizen or U.S. national status includes the following: 

a. Primary Evidence: 
(1) A birth certificate showing birth in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after 

January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the 

Northern Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands local time) (unless the 

applicant was born to foreign diplomats residing in such a jurisdiction); 

(2) United States passport; 

(3) Report of birth abroad of a U.S. citizen (FS-240) (issued by the Department of State to U.S. citizens); 

(4) Certificate of Birth (FS-545) (issued by a foreign service post) or Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350), 

copies of which are available from the Department of State; 

(5) Form N-561, Certificate of Citizenship; 

(6) Form I-197, United States Citizen Identification Card (issued by the Service until April 7, 1983 to U.S. 

citizens living near the Canadian or Mexican border who needed it for frequent border crossings) (formerly 

Form I-179, last issued in February 1974); 

(7) Form I-873 (or prior versions), Northern Marianas Card (issued by the Service to a collectively naturalized 

U.S. citizen who was born in the Northern Mariana Islands before November 3, 1986); 

(8) Statement provided by a U.S. consular official certifying that the individual is a U.S. citizen (given to an 

individual born outside the United States who derives citizenship through a parent but does not have an FS- 

240, FS-545, or DS-1350); or 

(9)      Form I-872 (or prior versions), American Indian Card with a classification code "KIC" and a statement on the 

back identifying the bearer as a U.S. citizen (issued by the Service to U.S. citizen members of the Texas Band 

of Kickapoos living near the U.S./Mexican border). 

 
[Source: Interim Guidance of Verification of Citizenship, Qualified Alien Status and Eligibility Under Title IV of 

the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (“Interim Guidance”), 62 FR 61344 

(Nov. 17, 1997), Attachment 4] 

 
b. Secondary Evidence 

If the applicant cannot present one of the documents listed in (a) above, the following may be relied upon to 
establish U.S. citizenship or U.S. national status: 

(1) Religious record recorded in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 

13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern 

Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands local time) (unless the applicant 

was born to foreign diplomats residing in such a jurisdiction) within three 3 months after birth showing that 

the birth occurred in such jurisdiction and the date of birth or the individual's age at the time the record was 

made; 

(2) Evidence of civil service employment by the U.S. government before June 1, 1976; 

(3) Early school records (preferably from the first school) showing the date of admission to the school, the 

applicant's date and U.S. place of birth, and the name(s) and place(s) of birth of the applicant's parents(s); 

(4) Census record showing name, U.S. nationality or a U.S. place of birth, and applicant's date of birth or age; 
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(5) Adoption finalization papers showing the applicant's name and place of birth in one of the 50 states, the 

District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after 

January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, 

Northern Mariana Islands local time) (unless the applicant was born to foreign diplomats residing in such a 

jurisdiction), or, when the adoption is not finalized and the state or other U.S. jurisdiction listed above will 

not release a birth certificate prior to final adoption, a statement from a State-or jurisdiction-approved 

adoption agency showing the applicant's name and place of birth in one of such jurisdictions, and stating that 

the source of the information is an original birth certificate; 

(6) Any other document that establishes a U.S. place of birth or otherwise indicates U.S. nationality (e.g., a 

contemporaneous hospital record of birth in that hospital in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, 

Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), 

American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands 

local time) (unless the applicant was born to foreign diplomats residing in such a jurisdiction); 

 
c.   Collective Naturalization 
If the applicant cannot present one of the documents listed in (a) or (b) above, the following will establish U.S. 
citizenship for collectively naturalized individuals: 

Puerto Rico: 

• Evidence of birth in Puerto Rico on or after April 11, 1899 and the applicant's statement that he or she was 

residing in the U.S., a U.S. possession or Puerto Rico on January 13, 1941; or 

• Evidence that the applicant was a Puerto Rican citizen and the applicant's statement that he or she was residing 

in Puerto Rico on March 1, 1917 and that he or she did not take an oath of allegiance to Spain. 

U.S. Virgin Islands: 

• Evidence of birth in the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the applicant's statement of residence in the U.S., a U.S. 

possession or the U.S. Virgin Islands on February 25, 1927; 

• The applicant's statement indicating resident in the U.S. Virgin Islands as a Danish citizen on January 17, 1917 

and residence in the U.S., a U.S. possession or the U.S. Virgin Islands on February 25, 1927, and that he or she 

did not make a declaration to maintain Danish citizenship; or 

• Evidence of birth in the U.S. Virgin Islands and the applicant's statement indicating residence in the U.S., a U.S. 

possession or territory or the Canal Zone on June 28, 1932. 

Northern Mariana Islands (NMI) (formerly part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI)): 

• Evidence of birth in the NMI, TTPI citizenship and residence in the NMI, the U.S., or a U.S. territory or 

possession on November 3, 1986 (NMI local time) and the applicant's statement that he or she did not owe 

allegiance to a foreign state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); 

• Evidence of TTPI citizenship, continuous residence in the NMI since before November 3, 1981 (NMI local 

time), voter registration prior to January 1, 1975 and the applicant's statement that he or she did not owe 

allegiance to a foreign state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); or 

• Evidence of continuous domicile in the NMI since before January 1, 1974 and the applicant's statement that he 

or she did not owe allegiance to a foreign state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time). Note: If a person 

entered the NMI as a nonimmigrant and lived in the NMI since January 1, 1974, this does not constitute 

continuous domicile and the individual is not a U.S. citizen 

 
d.   Derivative Citizenship 

If the applicant cannot present one of the documents listed in a or b above, the following may be used to make a 
determination of derivative U.S. citizenship: 

Applicant born abroad to two U.S. citizen parents: Evidence of the U.S. citizenship of the parents and the 

relationship of the applicant to the parents, and evidence that at least one parent resided in the U.S. or an outlying 

possession prior to the applicant's birth. 

Applicant born abroad to a U.S. citizen parent and a U.S. non-citizen national parent: Evidence that one 

parent is a U.S. citizen and that the other is a U.S. non-citizen national, evidence of the relationship of the applicant 

to the U.S. citizen parent, and evidence that the U.S. citizen parent resided in the U.S., a U.S. possession, American 

Samoa or Swain's Island for a period of at least one year prior to the applicant's birth. 

Applicant born out of wedlock abroad to a U.S. citizen mother: - Evidence of the U.S. citizenship of the mother, 

evidence of the relationship to the applicant and, for births on or before December 24, 1952, evidence that the mother 

resided in the U.S. prior to the applicant's birth or, for births after December 24, 1952, evidence that the mother had 

resided, prior to the child's birth, in the U.S. or a U.S. possession for a period of one year. 

Applicant born in the Canal Zone or the Republic of Panama: 
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• A birth certificate showing birth in the Canal Zone on or after February 26, 1904 and before October 1, 1979 

and evidence that one parent was a U.S. citizen at the time of the applicant's birth; or 

• A birth certificate showing birth in the Republic of Panama on or after February 26, 1904 and before October 1, 

1979 and evidence that at least one parent was a U.S. citizen and employed by the U.S. government or the 

Panama Railroad Company or its successor in title. 

 
In all other situations in which an applicant claims to have a U.S. citizen parent and an alien parent, or claims to fall 

within one of the above categories, but is unable to present the listed documentation: 

• If the applicant is in the U.S., the applicant should contact the local U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service 

office for determination of U.S. citizenship; 

• If the applicant is outside the U.S., the applicant should contact the State Department for a U.S. citizenship 

determination. 

 
e. Adoption of Foreign-Born Child by U.S. Citizen 

• If the birth certificate shows a foreign place of birth and the applicant cannot be determined to be a naturalized 

citizen under any of the above criteria, obtain other evidence of U.S. citizenship; 

• Because foreign-born adopted children do not automatically acquire U.S. citizenship by virtue of adoption by 

U.S. citizens, the applicant should contact the local U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service office for a 

determination of U.S. citizenship, if the applicant provides no evidence of U.S. citizenship. 

 
f. U.S. Citizenship By Marriage 

A woman acquired U.S. citizenship through marriage to a U.S. citizen before September 22, 1922. Provide 
evidence of U.S. citizenship of the husband, and evidence showing the marriage occurred before September 22, 

1922. 

Note: If the husband was an alien at the time of the marriage, and became naturalized before September 22, 

1922, the wife also acquired naturalized citizenship. If the marriage terminated, the wife maintained her U.S. 

citizenship if she was residing in the U.S. at that time and continued to reside in the U.S. 
 

 
LIST B: QUALIFIED ALIENS, NONIMMIGRANTS, AND ALIENS PAROLED 

INTO U.S. FOR LESS THAN ONE YEAR 
 

The documents listed below that are registration documents are indicated with an asterisk ("*"). 

 
a.   “Qualified Aliens” 

Evidence of “Qualified Alien” status includes the following: 

 
Alien Lawfully Admitted for Permanent Residence 

- *Form I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card, commonly known as a "green card"); or 
- Unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp in foreign passport or on *I Form I-94. 

 
Asylee 
- * Form I-94 annotated with stamp showing grant of asylum under section 208 of the INA; 
- *Form I-688B (Employment Authorization Card) annotated "274a.12(a)(5)"; 

- * Form I-766 (Employment Authorization Document) annotated "A5"; 

- Grant letter from the Asylum Office of the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service; or 

- Order of an immigration judge granting asylum. 

 
Refugee 

- * Form I-94 annotated with stamp showing admission under § 207 of the INA; 
- * Form I-688B (Employment Authorization Card) annotated "274a.12(a)(3)"; or 

- * Form I-766 (Employment Authorization Document) annotated "A3" 
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Alien Paroled Into the U.S. for a Least One Year 
- * Form I-94 with stamp showing admission for at least one year under section 212(d)(5) of the INA. (Applicant 

cannot aggregate periods of admission for less than one year to meet the one-year requirement.) 

 
Alien Whose Deportation or Removal Was Withheld 

- * Form I-688B (Employment Authorization Card) annotated "274a.12(a)(10)"; 
- * Form I-766 (Employment Authorization Document) annotated "A10"; or 

- Order from an immigration judge showing deportation withheld under §243(h) of the INA as in effect prior to 

April 1, 1997, or removal withheld under § 241(b)(3) of the INA. 

 
Alien Granted Conditional Entry 

- * Form I-94 with stamp showing admission under §203(a)(7) of the INA; 
- * Form I-688B (Employment Authorization Card) annotated "274a.12(a)(3)"; or 

- * Form I-766 (Employment Authorization Document) annotated "A3." 

 
Cuban/Haitian Entrant 
- * Form I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card, commonly known as a "green card") with the code CU6, CU7, or 
CH6; 

- Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in foreign passport or on * Form I-94 with the code CU6 or CU7; or 

- Form I-94 with stamp showing parole as "Cuba/Haitian Entrant" under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA. 

 
Alien Who Has Been Declared a Battered Alien or Alien Subjected to Extreme Cruelty 

- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service petition and supporting documentation 

 
b.   Nonimmigrant 
Evidence of “Nonimmigrant” status includes the following: 
- * Form I-94 with stamp showing authorized admission as nonimmigrant 

 
c. Alien Paroled into U.S. for Less than One Year 

Evidence includes: 

-  * Form I-94 with stamp showing admission for less than one year under section 212(d)(5) of the INA 



FINGERPRINTING REQUIREMENTS 

 

Fingerprint card(s) must be completed as outlined below and returned to the Department of Housing. 

NOTE: The Fingerprint card requirement will be waived if you furnish the Department with a copy of the 

front and back of your current D.P.S. Fingerprint Clearance Card. 

 

A. One set of fingerprints and fee are required for: 

 

1. The Qualifying Party; and 

2. The Individual named as Sole Proprietor (or Owner), or 

3. Each Partner of a Partnership, or 

4. The President, V.P., Secretary and Treasurer of a Corporation, or 

5. The Managing Members of a Limited Liability Company, or 

6. Each General Partner of a Limited Partnership, or 

5. Any person applying for a Salesperson's license. 

 

B. Fees 

 

1. A $22.00 fingerprint processing fee made payable to the Arizona Department of Housing 

shall accompany each returned fingerprint card. 

2. The fee shall be paid by exact cash, cashier's check, money order, or other certified funds. 

3. NO PERSONAL CHECKS OR COMPANY CHECKS will be accepted. 

 

C. Where to be fingerprinted 

 

The fingerprint card(s) may be taken to the nearest law enforcement agency - police department or 

sheriff's office - at which time you will complete the necessary information and sign the card in 

the designated space.  In addition to the fingerprint processing fee, the agency taking the 

fingerprints will also charge a fee which will vary according to their requirements. 

 

D. What you must take to the official/person taking your fingerprints: 

 

1.  Unexpired photo identification 

2. Fingerprint Verification Form 

3. 9x12 brown mailing envelope  

 

*The Fingerprint Verification Form contains instructions and a section which must be filled 

out by the fingerprint technician. The instructions tell the fingerprint technician to request a 

valid, unexpired government-issued photo ID and to compare the physical descriptors on the 

photo ID to the applicant. Once the applicant has been fingerprinted, the instructions tell the 

fingerprint technician to place the fingerprint card and the completed Fingerprint Verification 

Form into the envelope and seal it before returning the envelope to the applicant. The applicant 

then must mail/deliver the envelope with the seal intact to the Department. 
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E. All information must be typed or printed in black.  Each block to be completed is given a number 

and the corresponding number description is outlined below. 

 

1. Full name in all capital letters.  If you only have a middle initial, designate (I.O.) (initial 

only) next to the middle initial; if you do not have a middle name or initial, designate 

NMI (no middle initial). 

 

Last Name  First Name  Middle Name 

   DOE    JOHN    JOSEPH 

 

2. Signature of individual being fingerprinted. 

 

3. Complete residence address of the individual being fingerprinted, including apartment 

number, city, state and ZIP code. 

 

4. Aliases:  Other names that may have been used at any time. 

 

5. Date of birth in numbers, such as 7-21-52. 

 

6. Citizenship:  The name of the country you are a citizen of: U.S.A. or other citizenship. 

 

7. - 12. Personal description, abbreviated: 

 

Sex Race Hgt. Wgt. Eyes Hair 

 M   W 5'8" 165 BRN BRN 

 

13. Place of Birth: State City and State. 

 

14. Armed Forces number:  Military enlistment number even if it is your social security 

number. 

 

15. Social security number:  Fill in the number even if it’s shown in Block 14. 

 

16. Miscellaneous number: List any other identifying number. 

 

17. Date and signature of official taking the fingerprints. 

 

F.          Taking of fingerprints.  The following information must be followed exactly or the FBI  

              will reject the fingerprint card.  You may wish to provide these instructions to the  

              fingerprint technician. 

 

1. Have fingerprint technician make certain all impressions are taken in proper order, 

legible, fully rolled nail to nail and classifiable.  All data called for is essential.   

 

2. If an amputation or deformity makes it impossible to print a finger, the fingerprint official 

should make a notation to that effect, (i.e. “amp”) in the individual finger block.  No 

other writing is permitted in the fingerprint blocks. 

 

3. If some physical condition makes it impossible to obtain perfect impressions, submit the 

best that can be obtained.  Make sure the fingerprint official does NOT stamp “best prints 

possible” on card. 

 

4. No highlighter can be used on the fingerprint blocks. 
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5. If the fingerprint image bleeds onto the blue lines or overlaps the borders of that block, 

the card will be rejected. 

 

6. Fingerprints at the bottom of the page must be straight up and down on the card. 

 

G. Return of fingerprint card 

 

1. WARNING: The fingerprint card(s) cannot be folded or defaced in any manner because 

they are machine-processed. 

 

2. Card must be returned in 9x12 brown mailing envelope that was sealed by the fingerprint  

 technician. The fingerprint technician may not give the applicant the card without first 

sealing it inside the envelope. 

 

3. The fingerprint card(s) and fee(s) must be returned to the Department of Housing.  The 

background investigation must be completed before permanent status can be granted to 

any conditional license that is issued. 

 

H. All FBI record searches will be treated as confidential information and will not be disclosed, 

except as provided by law.  



FINGERPRINT VERIFICATION FORM 
 
 
 
 
 
ATTENTION FINGERPRINT TECHNICIAN: 
Please follow the instructions below for fingerprinting this applicant. 
 

1. Please fill out or ensure that the applicant has filled out all the required boxes on the 
fingerprint card prior to taking the fingerprints. 

 
2. Request a valid, unexpired government-issued photo ID from the applicant and 

compare the physical descriptors on the applicant’s photo ID to the applicant and to 
the information on the fingerprint card. 

 
3. Fill out the information in the boxes below.  Please print clearly. 
 
4. Once the prints have been taken, place the fingerprint card and this form into the 

envelope provided by the applicant and seal it. Please write your name or 
identification across the edge of the seal. Return the sealed envelope to the 
applicant. Do not give the applicant the card without first sealing it inside the 
envelope. 

 
 
PRINT the following information: 
 
Date Fingerprints Taken 
 
Name of Applicant Fingerprinted 
 
Fingerprint Technician’s Agency/Company Name 
 
Type of Photo ID provided by applicant (check one) 
 
______   Driver’s License/MVD issued ID         _____ Other (please specify on line below) 
 
______   Passport                                                       _____________________________          
 
 

 



 

 

 
 
 

Douglas A. Ducey Michael Trailor 
Governor          Director 

 

 

                        DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING 
                                                                1110 WEST WASHINGTON, SUITE 280 

PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007  

                                               (602) 364-1003 WWW.AZHOUSING.GOV   FAX: (602) 771-1002 

 
 
 

Due to new Federal regulations, the Department of Housing is required to provide you with the following 
Important Notice and required to maintain evidence in our files that we have done so before we may submit 
your fingerprint card to the proper authorities for a background analysis. 

 

Please complete this form and return it to the Department within five (5) business days. Thank you. _ 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: 
 

Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (“FBI”). If you have a criminal history 
record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the job, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to 
complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record. You should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or 
complete the record (or decline to do so) before officials deny you the job, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history 
record. 

 
The procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your FBI criminal history record are set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR), Section 16.30 through 16.34. Information on how to review and challenge your FBI criminal history record can be found at 
www.fbi.gov under Criminal History Summary Checks or by calling (304) 625-3878. 

 
To obtain a copy of your Arizona criminal history in order to review/update/correct the record (if applicable), you can contact the Arizona Department 
of Public Safety (“DPS”) Criminal History Records Unit at (602) 223-2222 to obtain a fingerprint card and a Review and Challenge packet. Information 
on the review and challenge process can be found on the DPS website (www.dps.gov). 

 
 

Your Signature 
 
 

Your Printed Name 

 
State of  ) Dated this            day of   , 20______ 
County of  ) 

 
On this    day of    , 20_____, before me personally appeared    , 
whose identity was proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the person whose name is subscribed to this instrument, and acknowledged that 
he/she executed the same. 

 

    Commission Expires:    
Notary Public 

http://www.azhousing.gov/
http://www.fbi.gov/
http://www.fbi.gov/
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