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REHABILITATION OF MOBILE HOMES 
 

A mobile home is defined as a residential structure built before June 15, 1976, on a permanent chassis, capable 

of being transported in one or more sections and is installed on a foundation system and connected to on‐site 

utilities.  The foundation system may or may not be a permanent foundation. Mobile homes do not include 

recreational vehicles, HUD manufactured homes (built on or after June 15, 1976 to the HUD code), or factory‐

built buildings (also known as modular homes). 

 

Arizona Revised Statutes 41‐4008 requires that mobile homes that are moved from one mobile home park  in 

this state to another mobile home park in this state, and mobile homes entering the state be rehabilitated for 

the safety of the home and its occupants.  Rehabilitation is required prior to moving the mobile home from 

the existing mobile home park, except  for mobile homes moving  into  this state which are  required  to be 

rehabilitated once they arrive to a site in this state. 
 

Please verify the local zoning requirements with the city, town or county BEFORE 

planning to relocate a mobile home.  Some local jurisdictions have requirements that 

exceed the state requirements; some local jurisdictions do not allow mobile homes. 

 

The cost of rehabilitating a mobile home may be reimburse to the owner of the mobile home if the household 

income  of  the  owner  of  the mobile home  is  at  or below  100%  of  the  current  federal poverty guidelines 

published annually by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 

 

REHABILITATION PERMIT 
 

The Department of Housing issues all Rehabilitation Permits. Local jurisdiction (city, towns, counties) require 

planning and zoning permits prior to installing a mobile home. 

 

The Department’s Rehabilitation Permit Application and instructions are found: 

 

 https://housing.az.gov/sites/default/files/Rehabilitation_Permit_Application_ADOH_09‐2017.pdf 

 

 https://housing.az.gov/sites/default/files/Instructions 

 

The fee required for the Rehabilitation Permit for the period of July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025 is found 

on the Department’s website: 

 https://housing.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/FEE%20SCHEDULE%202024_2025.pdf    

http://www.azhousing.gov/
https://housing.az.gov/sites/default/files/Rehabilitation_Permit_Application_ADOH_09-2017.pdf
https://housing.az.gov/sites/default/files/Instructions%20for%20completing%20%26%20submitting%20REHAB%20Permit%20Application%20by%20mail%20or%20over%20the%20counter_ADOH%2006-2016.pdf
https://housing.az.gov/sites/default/files/FEE-SCHEDULE-2018_2019_0.pdf


ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING 
REQUEST FOR REHABILITATION ASSISTANCE 

 
 

I hereby request assistance from the Mobile Home Relocation fund as set forth in Arizona Revised Statutes 
(“A.R.S.”) § 41-4008. By signing this form, I certify that I am a tenant as defined in A.R.S. § 41- 4008 and 
eligible to receive assistance. 

 
 
 

(Signature of Owner) (Date) 
 
 

OWNERS NAME:  
(Please Print) 

 
PARK NAME:  

 

UNITADDRESS:  Space #:  
 

CITY:  State:  Zip Code:  
 

Phone Number:  E-MAIL:   
 

Unit year:  Manufacturer:  
 
 

How long have you lived in the unit?  
 

Do you plan to live in the unit after it is moved? □ YES □ NO 

Annual Gross Income: $  

Number of immediate family members you support living in the unit (including yourself):  
 

A copy of your last year's Federal Income Tax Return "MUST" be returned with this form. 
Also please submit additional documents necessary such as: W-2 Forms, Pay Check Stubs, Welfare 
Benefits, Social Security, all sources of income you may receiving. 

 
Mailing Address if different from where unit is: 

 
 
 
 
 

On the next page, list the names of all immediate family members you support who are living in 
the mobile home along with their social security numbers. This must be filled out completely. 

 
This form must be completed and returned along with documents to: 

 
Arizona Department of Housing 1110 W. Washington, Suite 280, Phoenix, AZ 85007 

Or e-mail: kimberly.merrill@azhousing.gov 
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NAME RELATIONSHIP SOCIAL SECURITY# 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
ARIZONA REVISED STATUTE (A.R.S.”) § 41-4008 
REIMBURSEMENT FROM RELOCATION FUND; 

Costs of complying with standards; Definition 
 

A.  The cost of bringing a mobile home into compliance with the requirement of this article 
may be reimbursed to the owner from the mobile home relocation fund established under 
§33-1476.02, if all of the following are true: 

1.  The mobile home is moved from one mobile home park in this state to another mobile 
home park in this state. 

2.  The household income of the owner of the mobile home is at or below one 
hundred percent of the current federal poverty level guidelines as published annually 
by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. 

3.  The mobile home is not being relocated as the result of a judgment in a forcible detainer 
or special detainer action requiring the owner to vacate the mobile home park in 
which the mobile home is located. 

B.  The amount of the reimbursement pursuant to this section shall not exceed one thousand 
five hundred dollars for the costs related to any mobile home. 

C.  In this section, "owner means an individual whose primary residence has been the mobile 
home continuously for the six month period preceding an application for reimbursement, or an 
individual who has purchased the mobile home and who intends to reside in the mobile home 
as the individual's primary residence after the relocation. The fund shall have a claim for 
reimbursement of sums received under this section by an individual who fails to reside in the 
mobile home for six months following its relocation, unless failure was due the death or disability 
of a resident. 
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3/30/2023 Poverty Guidelines | ASPE 
 

U.S. FEDERAL POVERTY GUIDELINES USED TO DETERMINE FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY FOR 
CERTAIN FEDERAL PROGRAMS 

 
 

HHS POVERTY GUIDELINES FOR 2024 
 

The 2024 poverty guidelines are in effect as of January 17, 2024 
Federal Register Notice, January 17, 2024 - Full text. 

 

2024 POVERTY GUIDELINES FOR THE 48 CONTIGUOUS STATES AND THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 

PERSONS IN FAMILY/HOUSEHOLD POVERTY GUIDELINE 

For families/households with more than 8 persons, add $5,380 for each additional person. 

1 $15,060 

2 $20,440 

3 $25,820 

4 $31,200 

5 $36,580 

6 $41,960 

7 $47,340 

8 $52,720 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines    (Rev 10/2024)   1/1 

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2024-01-17/pdf/2024-00796.pdf
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STATE OF ARIZONA 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING 
1110 WEST WASHINGTON, SUITE 280 

PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007 
OFFICE: (602) 771-1000 FAX: 602-771-1002 

WWW.HOUSING.AZ.GOV 

MOBILE HOME REHABILIATION PERMIT APPLICATION 
 

OWNER INFORMATION 

Name:    
Last First 

   

   

Telephone Number: 

Mailing Address: 

Email Address:  
  

MOBILE HOME INFORMATION 

Mobile Home Park: 

Site Address: 

 

 Space Number:  

Manufacturer: 

Make or Model: 

Year of Manufacture: 

Size: 

VIN/Serial Number: 

   

   

   

   

   
PERMIT PURCHASER INFORMATION 

Applicant Name:   

Applicant Email Address:   
Email address to whom electronic communication from office will be sent 

 All rehabilitation work performed must remain open to view for inspection purposes 
 A final test must be performed in the presence of the Inspector 
 Application fee includes Insignia of Approval and two (2) field inspections; 

Additional field inspections are charged, refer to Fee Schedule for current fee amount. 
 If the rehabilitation work will be performed by someone other than the Owner, 

Please complete the following information: 

Company Name:   License Number:   
 

Telephone Number:   Email Address:   

FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE; PERMIT EXPIRES SIX (6) MONTHS FROM DATE OF ISSUE 
 

THIS SECTION IS FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 Issued By: Date Issued: Amount Received: 

Check # : Receipt #: 

http://www.housing.az.gov/


REHABILITATION OF MOBILE HOMES 
R4-34-606 

 

PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this program is to provide minimum safety standards for homes manufactured before 
the implementation of the HUD Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards. This applies to 
homes manufactured before June 15, 1976. Arizona law requires that "A person shall not occupy or 
otherwise use a mobile home which has been brought into this state or move a mobile home from 
one mobile home park in this state to another mobile home park in this state unless it meets the 
standards pursuant to this chapter and displays the proper state insignia" pursuant to 
A.R.S. § 41-4048 (C). 

 
REQUIREMENTS (Pursuant to Arizona Administrative Code (“A.A.C”) R4-34-606 

A. A rehabilitation permit shall be obtained from the Office of Manufactured Housing prior to 
any modification  of  the  unit.  (Permit  fee  is  $49.00  if  income  is  below  Area  Median Income 
(AMI);$306.00 if income at or above AMI. This includes the permit, compliance insignia, and 
two inspections. Additional inspections may incur additional charges.) 

 
B. The  following  requirements  shall  be  met  for  a  mobile  home  to  be  issued  a  certificate 
of compliance: 

 
1. A smoke detector (which may be a single station alarm device) shall be installed on any wall 
in a hallway or space connecting bedroom(s) and living areas. When located in a hallway, 
the detector shall be between the return air intake and the living area. Each smoke detector shall 
be installed in accordance with its listing. The top of the detector shall be located between 4 inches to 
12 inches below the ceiling; 

 
2. The walls, ceiling, and doors of each gas fired furnace and water heater compartment shall be lined 
with 5/16 inch gypsum board, unless the door opens to the exterior of the unit in which 
case the door may be all metal construction. All exterior compartments shall seal to the interior 
of the unit; 

 
3. Each room designated expressly for sleeping purposes shall have at least one outside egress 
window or approved exit device, unless it has an exterior door. The window or exit shall 
have a minimum clear dimension of 22 inches and a minimum clear opening of 5 square 
feet. The bottom of the exit shall not be more than 36 inches above the floor; 
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4. All electrical systems shall be tested for continuity to assure that metallic parts are 
properly bonded, tested for operation to demonstrate that all equipment is connected and 
in working order, and given a polarity check to determine that connections are proper. 
The electrical system shall be properly protected  for the required amperage load. If 
the unit wiring is  of aluminum conductors, all receptacles and switches rated 20 
amperes or less directly connected to the aluminum  conductors shall be marked 
CO/ALR.  Exterior  receptacles other than heat  tape receptacles, shall be of the ground 
fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) type. Conductors of dissimilar metals (copper/aluminum, 
or copper clad aluminum) must be connected in accordance with NEC Section 110.14; and 

 
5. The unit's gas piping shall be tested with the appliance valves removed from the 

piping system and the piping capped at those areas. The piping system shall withstand a 
pressure of at least 6 inch mercury or 3 psi for a period of not less than ten (10) minutes 
without showing any drop in pressure. Pressure shall be measured with a mercury 
manometer or a slope gauge calibrated so as to read in increments of not greater than 
1/10th pound or equivalent device. The source of normal operating pressure shall be 
isolated before the pressure test is made. After the appliance connections are reinstalled, 
the piping system and connections shall be tested with line pressure of not less than 10 inches 
nor more than 14 inches water column air pressure. The appliance connections shall be 
tested for leakage with soapy water or bubble solution. All gas furnaces and water heaters 
shall be vented to the exterior in accordance with IMC Chapter 8. 

C. The unit shall be inspected by the Office of Manufactured Housing to ensure compliance with 
the above listed requirements. 

 
D. The office shall issue a certification of compliance for each unit in compliance with the 
above requirements, and affix an insignia of approval to the exterior wall nearest the point of 
entrance of the electrical service. 
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 

Q. If I am moving my home from a park to private land, do I still need to have the rehab done? 
 

A. State law only requires the rehab when a home is being brought into the state from another state 
or being moved from one park to another park. The State does not require that a rehab be done if you 
are moving from a park to private property, however, many local jurisdictions do. Check with your 
local jurisdiction (city, county) first. 

 
Q. I have an electric furnace. Does the compartment still need to be lined with gyp? 

 
A. No. Only gas fired appliance compartments are required to be lined with gypsum board (i.e.; 
sheetrock, drywall). This includes any door to the compartment, unless the door is to the exterior to the 
house, in this case the door may be made of metal. When appliances are fueled by gas, all seams and 
openings to the interior of the house must be sealed. This is to prevent the ingress of combustion gasses into 
the living area of the home and provide some measure of fire protection. Sealing can be accomplished 
with drywall joint compound or caulking. All exposed wood must be covered with gyp board. 

 
Q. We are using one of the bedrooms as a den. Does this room still require an egress window? 

 
A. Yes. Sleeping rooms (bedrooms) are as originally designated by the home's manufacturer. A sleeping 
room not currently being used as such may be used as such in the future. 

 
Q. I'm not understanding the size requirement for the egress window, can you clarify? 

 
A. Many older homes were built with rather small windows in the bedrooms. The purpose of the 
egress device (usually a window or door) is to allow an easy escape route from the home in 
event of an emergency, such as a fire. The egress opening must be accessible and big enough for a person 
to fit through in a hurry. The sill of the window can be no more than 36 inches above the floor and the 
opening part of the window must be at least 22 inches wide and be a minimum of five square feet in 
area. Any security bars that may be present must have a quick release mechanism that allows someone 
to climb out of the window. 

 
Q. What is a GFCI receptacle and where do I need to put them? 

 
A. A GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter) is a device that is designed to protect people from 
accidental electrocution in event of a ground fault. An example would be if someone were blow dying 
their hair while sitting in a bathtub full of water (please don't do this) and they dropped the hair dryer in 
the water. The GFCI receptacle would open the circuit before the person could be electrocuted. All exterior 
receptacles need to be GFCI. Any receptacle within six feet of a sink or tub needs to be GFCI. 
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Q. What will I need to do when my home is inspected? How do I prepare? 
 

A. The inspector will be looking to see that the items listed above in the Requirements section have 
been completed satisfactorily. The inspector will need to witness a successful gas test, so the test must 
be conducted in the inspector's presence. The inspector will also check the electrical system; this 
will require that the electricity be on or that a generator of sufficient capacity be available. A common 
cause for a failed inspection is incomplete, unsuccessful or unavailable gas or electrical tests. It would be 
a good idea to pre test the home to identify and resolve any problems  before  calling  for  an 
inspection.  Another  common  area  of  failure  is inadequate gyp installation, or sealing, in gas 
appliance compartments. Be sure the work is complete in these areas. Keep in mind that the permit 
fee includes two inspection visits, any additional visits may incur additional charges, so it is a good idea to 
make sure that the work is complete before calling for an inspection. 

 
If you have any questions regarding these processes or procedures, please call our office for 
assistance. 

 
Arizona Department of Housing, (602) 771-1000 
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EXAMPLE OF A GAS TEST 
 

A. Materials needed: 
 

1. Sufficient caps of the correct size to cap off open ends of gas pipe. 
 

2. Appropriate fitting with gauge (usually calibrated in oz.) and valve (usually a bicycle type valve 
stem) to allow pressurization of the system. 

 
3. Method of pressurizing system (usually a bicycle tire pump). 

 
4. Soapy water, or a commercially available bubble solution, and a method of application (brush, 
swab or squirt bottle). 

 

B. Procedure: 
 

1. Shut off gas supply at yard line valve. Disconnect yard line at entrance to home and cap yard 
line. 

 
2. Install gauge and valve fitting at supply entrance to home. 

 
3. Disconnect appliances and cap off supply pipe at appliances. 

 
4. Pressurize gas pipe system to a minimum of 3psi (or equivalent). System must hold 
pressure for ten minutes without dropping. If pressure drops, the leak must be located and 
repaired and the system re-pressurized for a minimum of ten minutes. System 
passes when it will hold pressure without dropping for ten minutes. 

 
5. After main system pipes pass pressure test, uncap supply pipes at appliances and 
reinstall appliance connections. 

 
6. Pressurize system and check appliance connections with soapy water solution. If bubbles 
indicate a leak  at  connection,  repair  leak  and  retest.  System  passes  when  no  leaks 
are detected at appliance connections. 
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MOBILE HOME REHABILITATION CHECKLIST 
 

 Permit acquired 
 

 Smoke detector installed in correct location 
 

 Gas fired water heater and furnace compartment lined with gyp board including 
door (excluding exterior metal door) 

 
 Gas fired water heater and furnace compartment sealed to interior of home 

 
 Gas fired appliances are properly vented to the exterior of the home in compliance with 

the International Mechanical Code, Chapter 8 
 

 Outside egress (window or door) provided for sleeping rooms 
 

 Outside egress devices are of correct size 
 

 The  electrical  system  is  in  proper  working  order,  connections  made  correctly  and 
all materials appropriate for the application in compliance with the National Electrical 
Code, Section 110 (i.e., correct wire nuts used when connecting aluminum conductors to 
copper conductors, receptacles marked CO/ALR when connected to aluminum conductors, 
cover plates installed, etc.) 

 
 GFCI receptacles are installed in the appropriate locations, interior and exterior 

 
 Electrical service is on, so system can be tested 

 
 Gas system is ready for testing, all equipment and material is available 

 
 To request an inspection visit the ADOH Installation Inspection Request Online Portal 
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